We have 🍪Cookies! More information
  • More information in our Privacy Statement

Sluit
Sluit

Do you have what it takes to go beyond yourself? And are you willing to go there?

Simultaneously down to earth, in your face and imaginative – MY FIRST TRAGEDY: IPHIGENEIA is a fever dream of hallucinations, imagination and self-sacrifice 🔥

In My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia, Mart van Berckel and Angela Herenda bring the Greek tragedy of Iphigeneia back to its source: a penetrating ritual in which individuals struggle with self-sacrifice and the merciless and inevitable fate. Van Berckel and Herenda previously co-produced the Parade hit play, Carry/Jump/Catch. The Parool wrote about it, “You get the most energy, without a doubt, from the seven dancers of Club Guy & Roni’s Poetic Disasters Club. Young people who go beyond themselves.

“Damn my mother, damn my father,
what has this to do with me?”

The Tragedy of Iphigeneia
Iphigeneia is a Greek tragedy that tells the story of a young girl, Iphigeneia, who is sacrificed by her father, Agamemnon, in order to appease the gods and ensure a favorable wind for the Greek fleet during the Trojan War. The story explores themes of sacrifice, loyalty, and the consequences of power and ambition, while highlighting the human condition and how even the greatest leaders or powerful people are not immune to making rash decisions that can lead to disastrous consequences.

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia is on tour until April 13th.

Photography: Sanne Peper, 2023

Agenda

Apr
Thu 13 Apr 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Stadsschouwburg De Harmonie Leeuwarden
Fri 7 Apr 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

CC Amstel Amsterdam
Thu 6 Apr 20:15
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Posthuis Theater Heerenveen
Mar
Wed 29 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Zwolse Theaters - Odeon
Fri 24 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

LUX Nijmegen
Thu 23 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater Ins Blau Leiden
Wed 22 Mar 20:00
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater aan de Rijn Arnhem
Tue 21 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Stadsschouwburg Utrecht
Sat 18 Mar 20:00
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Kunstlinie Almere
Thu 16 Mar 20:15
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater aan het Spui Den Haag
Sat 11 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater De Lieve Vrouw Amersfoort
Fri 10 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

MIMIK Deventer
Thu 9 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater Bellevue Amsterdam
Wed 8 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater Bellevue Amsterdam
Sat 4 Mar 20:00
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

De Schuur Haarlem
Fri 3 Mar 20:00
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

De Schuur Haarlem
Wed 1 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Cultuurpodium Groene Engel Oss
Feb
Sat 25 Feb 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Meervaart Theater Amsterdam
Fri 24 Feb 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

De Nieuwe Kolk Assen
Sat 18 Feb 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater de Machinefabriek Groningen
Fri 17 Feb 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater de Machinefabriek Groningen
Thu 16 Feb 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater de Machinefabriek Groningen

Stay in the know on all things NITE and when we’re around! Keep me updated

By giving my e-mail address, I give permission to be kept informed by e-mail about the performances and activities of NITE + Club Guy & Roni